autismmumsdads

Everything but the kitchen sink…

Posted on: February 12, 2012

The point of my blogs is to offer support to fellow Autism parents and also raise awareness for people who don’t know enough/nothing about Autism.

Some of these people take so much for granted, in some cases, its the smallest of things, that mean so much to us.

Distraction is key to get through a day with A. As long as he is watching Mario or has his DSi on – he’s fairly happy.
Its the same when dressing him or getting him to have his nappy changed, at one point we used to have to play a small video from youtube on our mobile phones just to get him to lie down or sit still then rush like mad to get his clothes or a new nappy on.

One of the most difficult situations for us with A, is taking him to the shops. – I must admit in the past I’ve avoided taking A out – self-conciously.

He will scream as soon as we enter some shops making it impossible to walk round or make it much further past the door.

Why?

Sensory overload – as A is non verbal its impossible to know what actually triggers this but it could be the colour of the shop, the noise, the lighting, the crowds of people.

We’ve tried walking round but he gets so distressed and before he had his Special Needs buggy he would get that upset he would almost be tipping his pram up.

Take him out the pram then? Well that sounds like an easy solution….NOT

I couldn’t dream of letting A, out of his pram in crowded areas, he won’t hold my hand and he has no sense of danger, he wouldn’t think twice or even realise its dangerous to run into a road or infront of a car…That’s why he has his Special Needs pram.
Its been a life saver, I can take A, out maybe once, twice a week (at a push) knowing he is safe & if he does get distressed he won’t tip the pram up – must admit we get a lot of funny looks though, can just imagine what they are thinking “Why is that little boy in a pram” “Can’t he walk?” – just ignorance really, used to make me feel awkward, now I just ignore it.

People take things for granted like taking their children to the park, A, likes to cuddle other children, not because hes particularly affectionate but for the sensory input and because he doesn’t know how to behave appropriately with children and his excitement takes over.
I’ve had so many funny looks from other parents and a total disregard when I’ve told them he has Autism, or the usual ‘oh I’m sorry!’

I can’t even think about taking A, anywhere without a massive collection of crisps, biscuits, plenty of water, his DSi and something for him to chew on, they just about allow us to be out for 1-2 hours. Before I used to take these things with us I would feel anxious, worried about others, or A’s reactions.

A, likes to direct the way and will get upset if we don’t go that way, as that’s the way he knows, so its safe for him, there’s no room for change.

He makes loud noises and he bites his fist when excited.
He will make sounds/cry/moan/jerk his body when upset/anxious 2 express his feelings and I hate the looks and stares we get from other people – I’m saying all this because I want others to realise how much a challenge some of the simplest things are for us Autism Parents, if I made a list of everything we’d be here forever.

I just hope by you reading my blog your becoming more Autism Aware and making life that bit easier for everyone involved.

L x

3 Responses to "Everything but the kitchen sink…"

A great blog, although my son G has Asperger’s some of the things you say bring back some memories. We got good at going to places that you could make a quick exit from. The number of times I walked into a shop and then had to walk straight out of with G were numerous, along with the funny looks I used to get. Even now some shops are too bright and busy for him. Knowing others have experienced this helps.

Sounds just like trips to the shops with my toddler, screams all the way round, unless i can distract him with treats. On one occasion i was trying on a pair of boots and he kept pulling at the boots to make me take them off….and as we left the shop he wouldn’t let me carry the bag with the boots in! He’s very dramatic. My eldest son who has 22q11 has some autistic traits and also finds shops difficult, i agree with sensory issues, my son has to touch everything.

[…] Mums & Dads is a brand new blog displaying some talented, inspiring words. I read the post, “Everything but the kitchen sink” and had to […]

Leave a Reply

