autismmumsdads

When you need a friend..

Posted on: February 11, 2012

Autism can be very lonely. Sometimes you feel like your the only one in the world with a child who has ASD. (Autistic Spectrum Disorder)

You feel like things can’t get any worse and there’s always a ‘fight’ around the corner.

When I first suspected A, of having Autism, I didn’t know what to do, I questioned my instinct & felt alone. I began to research Autism on the internet, most web pages I came across where rubbish, ‘How to cure your child of Autism for $10,000’ – yeah right!

Most of my research was done on the National Autistic Society web page – its a fantastic resource and everything you read is fact.

The next place I looked was Facebook, often when you feel no one close to you understands you can feel so isolated and its a horrible place to be, you can’t voice your concerns as you feel you’ll be laughed at or told your being silly. I joined a few groups on Facebook, and spoke with other ‘Autism Parents’ it was a relief that I wasn’t going mad and that all of the things I was experiencing with A, actually happened to other people.

I wasn’t over-reacting or seeing things that weren’t there, it was a great weight off my shoulders.

As I said in my previous post its a burning question when you first start your Autism journey, ‘why my child?’ Often parents blame themselves, I know I’ve been there – Its important to interact with other parents and to learn that you are not at fault.

There are all sorts of different support networks via the internet, I’ve been lucky I started up my own twitter page (@AutismMums_Dads) I’ve found so many great people on there who understand what its like to live with Autism everyday, they pick you up when your feeling down and give you advice & tips when your struggling.

They are also great listeners. They’ve been a fantastic comfort to me and I know they can be/are to others.

You can lose a lot of friends (sometimes) when you have a child with additional needs, guess its to much hard work for them to understand or the social aspect of Autism gets in the way.

I guess all I’m trying to say is, you don’t need to feel alone, because you’re not alone. 1 in 100 people in the UK have an Autistic Spectrum Disorder, that’s about half a million people.

So no matter how dark your life may feel, how lonely. If you search hard enough you will find friends, friends you may never meet in the flesh, but friends that will be with you every step of the way, friends that won’t judge, friends that understand.

A friend is the one who comes in when the
whole world has gone out

~ Grace Pulpit

L x

4 Responses to "When you need a friend.."

Lovely post hun, and we will always have each other to lean on x

Beautiful L! I can not tell you how wonderful it is chatting with other parents! I have found more support from the little blue bird on my phone then I have anywhere else, and I thank you for that.

I can totally relate to this post – I too searched for support, advice and friendship in all the usual places and found my niche in Twitter. Anything I do us repaid with interest which in turn spurs me on to do more (however small a gesture) – You inspire me to want to do anything I am able and for that I thank you.

A very thoughtful post. It took so long to get the full diagnosis for G.Dealing with people who didn’t understand my son and the criticism of how I looked after him has often hurt (i.e too soft and forgiving). However once he did have the diagnosis at 28 (long story) things started to fall in place and I’d been doing the right thing all along. I wish ‘experts’ would listen to the parent’s more.

Leave a Reply

